Dealing with Injury + Some Talk about Style

Hey guys!

I didn’t want to make this post just about dealing with injury because I always like to have something *positive* to say too! So I’m also gonna talk a little bit about style, especially style on the go annnnnd stylish workout gear :).

So firstly, I already told you guys about the suckyness of Camp Bob. It was quite windy so we did a few land workouts. On the second day we were there the coach sent us on an hour and a half long run. Most of the team had not run more than 30 minutes all winter so this was quite the feat. I ran for the full time but ended up injuring my knee. I now have a hard swollen mass of irritated muscle tissue on the outside of my left knee. One of the novice coaches who is a physical therapy grad student thinks that its a IT band and quad tightness issue. It’s pretty painful when rowing, erging, running, lifting, and even biking. It also hurts when I walk up and down stairs or on uneven surfaces. I toughed it out for the rest of the week for the most part only taking one practice off and going in early once or twice. We got a few days off after Camp Bob but as soon as we got back to lifting and piecing on the ergs (the flow is too high on the Allegheny to go out right now-grrr) it has started being quite painful again. It doesn’t negatively affect my splits, I can still go as fast, but it puts me in excruciating pain. Additionally, while doing heavy lifting yesterday I pushed through all the sets of squats but that was also extremely painful. My ribs on my left side have also been slightly painful since mid-winter, but nothing compared to my knee. I know that between these two problems I should take some time off. But it is SO DIFFICULT. There is a huge amount of guilt associated with taking any time off and racing season is upon us so I really don’t want to lose any fitness. More importantly rowing and working out is what keeps me sane. I am quite the anxious chica and working out is an important part of reducing my nervousness.

And there appear to be very few cross training options that won’t hurt my knee. Swimming seems to be a good one but am a terrible swimmer. Guess I’ll have to learn. I’m also planning on doing a warm up, heating pad, massage irritated muscle tissue, ice routine that my PT-grad student-coach recommended.  Have any of you ever been injured? Any good tips? At this point I’m inclined to try and just “train through it” but I don’t want this to come back to bite me in the ass. I’m just really frustrated. I stepped up my game a lot this winter in terms of fitness and I don’t want to have to slow down/for it to go to waste.

Onto style. So much more fun!!! So I know that being an athlete, student, and having a job means that I don’t have a ton of time or $money$ for style. So here are some of my thoughts on style for those in similar situations. In list format cause I love me some lists.

– Don’t just wear sweats all day. I know this is tempting especially if you do two workouts a day. But putting on real clothes makes such a difference in how I feel! I feel more put together and productive if I have on real clothes.

-Shower at the boathouse or erg room to save time (and money on your water bill). I just started doing this during our winter season and I get so much more done without the trip back to my apartment.

-Have an easy hairstyle and makeup routine. I just cut my hair really short (the Justin Bieber jokes have not stopped since) and I LOVE it. I think its super edgy and chic and so so so easy. It takes approximately 30 seconds to dry. I also have an easy makeup routine which involves mascara, a tiny bit of eyeshadow, maybe blush, and chapstick.

-Wear clothes that show off/compliment your athletic build. I am all about tank tops to show off my ripped back/arms. I generally think that athletic figures look better in more fitted clothes as oversized items make you look…oversized. But I’m no fashionista so you don’t have to trust me on that. Right now I’m loving my straight leg jeans from Gap with a simple top and big earrings (love the whole short hair, big earrings thing).

– Wear something cute to workout. I love fun colored sports bras, cute tank tops, and cutting up my old t-shirts into loose tanks. You’re putting your body in a lot of pain, if wearing something cute helps motivate you then do it!

That wasn’t a great style post haha. Hopefully I’ll get better at this I might do a review of some different brands of spandex and other rowing apparel soon that’d be fun! I also might do an outfit of the day once or twice. Especially with it being spring. Also some other posts coming soon: nutrition-yumz and also a post about being a student and a rower-yeah…its rough.

❤ Sarah

About rowingsarah

I row (not very well) and do other stuff and this is a blog about that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

